Top 10: Most Runs as Captain in IPL (Overall) – CricIndeed

Rodney P

We commonly see the term “captains leading from the front” in cricket, and this is true for all the formats of the game. As a skipper of the side, whether their primary role is a batter, bowler, or all-rounder, they have to contribute to the team’s cause more often than not and inspire the team in every possible way.

In the IPL as well, a captain of the side has to play a substantial role, be it taking wickets, scoring runs, or making some sort of impact on the game. If a skipper does these things over a course of time, not only will they be retained in the role for a considerable amount of time, but the team will also greatly benefit from the same.

In this article, we will see the top 10 batters who have scored the most runs as captains in the IPL.

Most Runs as Captain in IPL

Virat Kohli4994142133.3111337/5
MS Dhoni4660196137.4684*22/0
Rohit Sharma3986157129.3798*25/0
Gautam Gambhir3518127122.799331/0
David Warner335683140.5312632/1
KL Rahul237556131.65132*18/3
Adam Gilchrist190074136.5910611/1
Shreyas Iyer177260125.4993*11/0
Sachin Tendulkar172351120.15100*10/1
Sanju Samson156851146.2611910/1

Key Insights

Virat Kohli has the most aggregate runs when leading the side, and all of his runs came for the Royal Challengers Bengaluru. Also, he is just 6 runs shy of becoming the first batter to breach the 5000-run mark as a skipper. (Check out Virat Kohli’s year-wise performance in the IPL here.)

The only other batter to have amassed more than 4000 runs as skipper is MS Dhoni, and he did that at an average of 39.28 with 22 half-centuries to his credit. Rohit Sharma, who isn’t captaining MI anymore, is just 14 runs short of becoming the third batter to cross the 4000-run milestone.

With 196 innings, MS Dhoni leads the way with the most batting appearances as a skipper.

Also Read | MS Dhoni IPL Runs – Year by Year

Virender Sehwag has the best strike rate among the captains with a minimum of 1000 runs. The opening batter notched up 1524 runs at a strike rate of 167.65 in the 53 matches he led Delhi and Punjab.

On the other hand, Sourav Ganguly’s strike rate of 111.33 is the lowest for a batter with over 1000 runs as a skipper. The left-hander led Pune and KKR across 42 games, scoring 1110 runs.

Virat Kohli (5) and KL Rahul (3) are the only players to have scored more than 1 century while leading their side. Rahul Dravid (1304), Sourav Ganguly (1110), Faf du Plessis, and Kane Williamson (1265) join Shreyas Iyer, Gautam Gambhir, and Rohit Sharma as the captains not to have scored a single century while leading the side.

While KL Rahul’s batting average of 50.53 is the best as a skipper of the team, Kohli has the most number of fifty-plus scores (42), followed by Warner (33) and Gambhir (31).

Source link

Share this post
Next Post

RCB brace for Sunrisers' fireworks at Chinnaswamy

Match details Royal Challengers Bengaluru (10th; P6 W1 L5) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (5th; P5 W3 L2)Bengaluru, 7.30pm IST (2pm GMT) Big picture – Can RCB withstand SRH’s power at the Chinnaswamy? After making the playoffs for two seasons in a row and then narrowly missing out last year, RCB are […]
RCB brace for Sunrisers' fireworks at Chinnaswamy

You May Like