Stats: Most Below 150 Totals Successfully Defended by Teams in IPL – CricIndeed

Inarticle 80
Stats: Most Below 150 Totals Successfully Defended by Teams in IPL – CricIndeed

T20 cricket and high-scoring games go hand in hand. After all, the format is tailor-made for batters to showcase their batting prowess.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has also registered mammoth scores, with teams even crossing the barrier of 250 runs easily.

However, there have been instances of teams posting below-par totals on the scoreboard. Despite that, they have successfully defended their totals, riding on the back of their brilliant bowling attack.

In this article, we’ll list the teams that have successfully defended the most below-150 totals in IPL history.

Most Below 150 Totals Successfully Defended in IPL

TeamsBelow 150 Totals DefendedLowest Total Defended
Sunrisers Hyderabad11118
Punjab Kings10119
Mumbai Indians10120
Chennai Super Kings8116
Kolkata Knight Riders8129
Deccan Chargers6129
Royal Challengers Bengaluru6126
Delhi Capitals3130
Rajasthan Royals3144
Gujarat Titans2135
Kochi Tuskers1132
Pune Warriors1129
Rising Pune Supergiant1148

Key Insights

0: The Lucknow Super Giants are the only active team that hasn’t yet defended a below-150 total in the IPL. Gujarat Lions, now defunct, are the other team to never defend their 4 sub-150 scores in the 2 IPL seasons they played.

Punjab Kings (PBKS), Mumbai Indians (MI), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have scored 35 or more below 150 totals batting first, with Punjab having over 40.

Punjab, Kolkata, and Rajasthan Royals have lost 30 or more matches when they have put up less than 150 runs on the board.

CSK holds the record for defending the lowest team total in the IPL. The league champions defended their score of 116/9 against PBKS (then Kings XI Punjab) in Durban in 2009. CSK restricted PBKS to 92/8 in 20 overs to win the match by 24 runs.

Punjab, Hyderabad, Chennai, Mumbai, and Bengaluru are the only teams that have defended below 120 scores in the IPL. Punjab and Hyderabad have done it twice each.

Source link

Share this post