Royal Challengers Bengaluru – IPL Results Every Year – CricIndeed

Inarticle 80
Royal Challengers Bengaluru – IPL Results Every Year – CricIndeed

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) boasts a lot of fanfare thanks to the star cricketers they have had in their lineup. The only thing that’s missing is the coveted IPL trophy.

The star-studded RCB hasn’t yet won the league, despite making the IPL playoffs 8 times. So that leaves us with a question.

How has RCB fared over the years in the IPL?

This article glances at RCB’s year-wise performance in IPL history.

RCB Year-wise Performance in IPL

YearSeries ResultMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
20087th Place1441000
2009Runner Up169700
20103rd Place Play-off168800
2011Runner Up1610600
20125th Place168701
20135th Place168620
20147th Place145900
2015Qualifier 2168602
2016Runner Up169700
20178th Place1331000
20186th Place146800
20198th Place145801
2022Qualifier 2169700
20236th Place147700

Key Insights

2009, 2011, and 2016 were the 3 remarkable years for Royal Challengers Bengaluru as the team made it to the tournament final. However, all the time, they ended up as the runners-up, losing to the Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings, and Sunrisers Hyderabad, respectively.

10: The number of matches won and lost by RCB in a single IPL season. The Bengaluru-based team registered 10 victories in the 2011 season, helping them qualify for the playoffs. On the contrary, they lost 10 matches each in the 2008 and 2017 seasons.

2017 was the worst year for RCB as they managed to win only 3 matches, which is their lowest win tally in a season. The same year also witnessed RCB register the lowest team total in IPL history (49 vs KKR).

Out of the 16 seasons, RCB has qualified for the IPL playoffs in 8 seasons. Among them, they were runners-up three times, reached Qualifier 2 and Eliminator twice, and reached the 3rd place play-off once.

RCB has finished at the bottom of the points table twice in 2017 and 2019, ending the respective seasons in 8th place.

Thus far, 7 players have led the Royal Challengers in the IPL, with Virat Kohli captaining the side in 143 games. Kohli is the fourth-most successful captain in the league, with 66 wins under his belt.

Source link

Share this post